## Minutes of Regular School Board Meeting Rule Independent School District July 21, 2011

The Board of Trustees of the Rule ISD met in regular session at 7:00 p.m., July 21, 2011 in the Rule Independent School District's Library with the following present:

Robert Ace Turner, President Jason Tanner, Vice-President Elaina Mathis, Secretary Rod Petty Theresa Baiza

**Absent:** 

**Norva Smith** 

Also present: Bryan Davis, Superintendent Barry McBroom, Principal Ronnie Kincaid, ESC 14 Alice Jones, ESC 14 Kenneth Thompson, ESC 14 Amy Tanner, ESC 14

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m. by Robert Ace Turner, President. Invocation was given by Rod Petty.

Robert Ace Turner asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting/s with corrections.

Motion was made by Jason Tanner and seconded by Rod Petty. Motion carried 5-0.

There were no comments from the public.

Mr. Davis recommended amending the budget as follows:

Adding \$50.00 to Instructional Resources and Media Services, Adding \$32,000.00 to Student Transportation, Adding \$30,000.00 to Capital Improvements, and Adding \$266.00 to Payments to Appraisal Districts.

Motion was made by Jason Tanner and seconded by Rod Petty. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis recommended approving contracting with the Region 14 Education Service Center for Business Services at a cost of \$2,000.00 per month. Motion was made by Elaina Mathis and seconded by Jason Tanner. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis recommended approving Kenneth Thompson with Region 14 Education Service Center as Rule ISD Investment Officer.

Motion was made by Jason Tanner and seconded by Theresa Baiza. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis recommended approving the removal of Brenda Turner from the signature cards for the Rule Banking Center i.e. and adding Amy Tanner, Kenneth Thompson, and Alice Jones to the signature cards for the Rule Banking Center i.e. Motion was made by Rod Petty and seconded by Jason Tanner. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis and Mr. Kincaid discussed with the School Board Members the requirements of School Board training.

Mr. Davis recommended approving Policy Update 90 as presented by TASB for LEGAL and LOCAL policies.

The motion was made by Rod Petty and seconded by Theresa Baiza. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis discussed Policy Update 90 Codes EIA, EIC, and EIE(LOCAL) regarding academic achievement.

Mr. Davis recommended approving Policy Code EIE(LOCAL), a Resolution regarding Student Success Initiative.

Motion was made by Jason Tanner and seconded by Rod Petty. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. McBroom discussed the Rule ISD grading policy for the 2011-2012 school year with the School Board.

Mr. Davis recommended approving that the Cafeteria Prices for the 2011-2012 school year remain the same as the prices were for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion was made by Rod Petty and seconded by Theresa Baiza. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis recommended approving the purchase of a 2011 Chevrolet Suburban for school transportation needs from Bailey-Toliver Chevrolet/Cadillac for a total cost of \$31,023.75.

Motion was made by Rod Petty and seconded by Elaina Mathis. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Davis and the Board of Trustees set the dates for the August Board Budget and Tax Rate Workshop Meeting for 8-15-11 at 7:00 p.m., the August Board Public Hearing Meeting for 8-29-11 at 6:45 p.m., and the August Regular Board Meeting for 8-29-11 at 7:00 p.m.

Mr. Davis recommended approving to offer Janice Qualls a one year probationary contract for the position of Secondary Science Teacher of Rule ISD for the 2011-2012 school year at base pay with a stipend of \$2,000.00.

Motion was made by Jason Tanner and seconded by Elaina Mathis. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. McBroom reported on the following: Student Handbook Revisions	
Break In at Ag Shop	
Mr. Davis reported on the following:	
Financial Report	
<b>Investment Report</b>	
K-Line Irrigation System	
Staff Salaries	
Newspaper Article	
FIRST School Report	
LEA Determination Report	
Motion made by Rod Petty and seconded Motion carried 5-0.	by Theresa Baiza to adjourn at 9:30 p.m.
President	Secretary